WhatsApp, although acquired by Meta then Facebook, still focuses on the privacy and protection of the users’ data. This year, WhatsApp is bringing in a few new features that are privacy-focused and protects your data at the same time.
First, you can now delete the sent messages even after a day. With the new update, WhatsApp now allows users to delete a message as old as 2 days and 12 hours.
This will help you save your face (within two days) from the embarrassing moment you created on your own after sending a message to your crush.
Other than this, there are three major features that are being under development for a very long time.
- Prevent Screenshots on View Once Messages: WhatsApp will soon roll out a feature where you cannot take a screenshot of a message set as View Once. This will also show a message saying that taking screenshots is not allowed. The feature is under testing.
- Selective Online Status: Now you can choose who can see your Online Status. Previously, only the Last Seen was set to hide under set conditions, but now you can now hide your Online status in a similar way. The feature is set to roll out to all the users starting this month.
- Leave Stealthily (almost): Now you can leave an annoying group without anyone in the group noticing, minus the admin. None of the members will notice that you left, and create a fuss in the office group you have joined. The feature is set to roll out this month to all the users.
In short, WhatsApp continues to improve and coming closer to telegram in many aspects already.
Source: WhatsApp Blog